Home ยป PSL 2020

PSL 2020

PSL (Pakistan super league)

PSL 2020 will begin in February; the whole series will be played in Pakistan. It is the first time that the whole series event held in Pakistan. Peoples of Pakistan’s dream come true to watch whole PSL series in Pakistan

PSL stands for Pakistan super league. This was started, on 9 September 2015. PCB is its administrator. Different investors buy the franchise.  At the time of start-up, only five teams participate in it. But now in PSL 2020 it contains six teams. The following are the names of the teams which participate in it.

  • Islamabad United
  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Multan Sultans
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators

PSL is a professional twenty 20 cricket league. It normally starts between the month of February and March. It consists of a double round-robin format.  Top four teams qualify for the next rounds which are having best records. The next round is playoff round and walks to championship game finale and the winner gets the prize cup. PSL league follow rules and regulation directed by ICC. The following are the criteria on which teams are ranked. Higher number of points

  • If equal, better run rate
  • If equal, highest number of wins
  • If equal, fewest losses
  • If again equal, the results of head to head meeting

In the situation of math draw, a super over is used to get a winner. But if the super over is also finished on the draw than the team which finished in the highs league position at the end of match consider the winner of the match. 

PCB officially announces PSL in September 2015. After several years of planning and hardworking PSL begin on 4 February 2016 in the United Arab Emirates. In the first season, PSL contains a higher number of international players from different countries. PCB announces in May 2016 that PSL yield profit of this season was 2.6 million US dollars. The marketing value of PSL in 2017 was up to 300 million us dollar.

The first season of PSL which held in 2016 is lucky for Islamabad United as they are the winner of 2016 PSL. In the second PSL season which held on 2017 Peshawar Zalmi become winners. IN 2018 Islamabad again get a chance to become a winner. In 2019 Quetta Gladiators beat all and become a winner. Now Islamabad United become a two-time winner of PSL, Fist time in 2016 and second time in 2018. Till 2019 Kamran Akmal is a player who takes most runs in all seasons which are about 1459. Most wickets were taken by Wahab Riaz which is 70 in number till 2019

Due to security reasons, PSL’s first season is completely played out of Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates. But in the second season finale is played in Pakistan. And in PSL 2020 whole season is going to be played in Pakistan.

google-site-verification: google05baf5a73fc33c39.html

About the author

Waqar Akram

1 Comment

Click here to post a comment

Email NewsLetter

en English