Home » Pakistan Announces Squad for ODI Sri-Lanka Series

Pakistan Announces Squad for ODI Sri-Lanka Series

Squad for ODI Sri-Lanka Series


Pakistan cricket team’s head coach and chief selector Musbah UL Haq announced a 16 man Squad for ODI Sri-Lanka Series starting from 27th of September. This squad is only for the Odis while the squad for T20is will be announced during the One-day series. While the other players in probables will continue to train at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore.Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Hasnain have earned recalls. While Hassan Ali misses out due to back spasms.Misbah UL Haq said that “we have put together the best possible squad”.These are the only 50-over matches we have this season and we want to make their optimum use. Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket,” he said.Misbah added a season-opening series is crucial for setting the tone. “It is extremely important that we produce solid performances and have favourable results. It will build the confidence of our players and help in carrying the momentum Down Under,” he said.He added, “The five boys, who have been recalled, were straightforward selections. Iftikhar Ahmed is a batsman who can also bowl off-spin, providing the captain with necessary bowling depth as Sri Lanka boasts a few left-handers in their ranks. Mohammad Nawaz has been performing well in domestic matches. Despite their strong performances, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Abid Ali were unlucky to miss out the World Cup squad.” Sri-Lanka has already named their squad for the shorter format.

Squad for ODI Sri-Lanka Series:

Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Babar Azam, Imam ul Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abid Ali, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Muhammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Hasnain, Wahab Riaz, Usman Shinwari.


27 Sep – 1st ODI, National Stadium, Karachi.29 Sep – 2nd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi.2 Oct – 3rd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi.5 Oct – 1st T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.7 Oct – 2nd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.9 Oct – 3rd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

About the author



Click here to post a comment

Email NewsLetter

en English